The U.S. government has a hand in ensuring whistleblowers are recognized for their courageous and informative efforts. On July 21, 2010, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) whistleblower program went into effect. This program went into effect due to the President signing into the law the “Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act,” which is the same law that also established a whistleblower incentive program at the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. This also states that individuals who submit tips related to violations of the Commodity Exchange Act will be rewarded with awards ranging from 10 to 30 percent of the collected monetary sanctions. These sanctions are paid from its Investor Protection Fund.

Over 3,000 whistleblower Tips, Complaints or Referrals (TCR) were received in the Fiscal Year 2012 by the TCR system.